Project Make a Difference- here is what Dainius shared with us!

EN european solidarity corps logo cmyk 1We are happy to share what Dainius told us about himself and his work! See his interview!


Tell us about yourself- where you are from, what have you studied/or study, what are your hobbies and interests?

My name is Dainius. I am from Lithuania, I have studied Multimedia and Computer design in Vilnius Gediminas Technical university (Lithuania) and also, I finished business management studies in Gold Coast (Australia). Moreover, I did Erasmus studies for half a year in Zaragoza (Spain). I do filmmaking and video editing, it’s one of my hobbies that sometimes provides additional income as well. I love different sports, mostly extreme, like rock climbing, alpine skiing, mountain biking. But I also enjoy basketball, volleyball, running and many others. I possess active living, I love spending time outdoors. I hike, do camping, I love long walks and in general I choose nature over city.

What is your motivation to take part in this project? Why did you decide to take part in it?

Two of the biggest factors for me: educational / social experience and the second is working with kids. Firstly, I believe that ESC is great way to broaden your teaching skills and social skills. Working with people of different age, different cultures and values – it’s a school on its own. And as long as you show interest and you are motivated – great things can come, new opportunities, bigger social baggage. I strongly believe that teaching experience will be valuable for me in the future a lot. Secondly, experience with kids can bring many challenges, teach patience, self-control, respect, kindness and improve your language skills. We all sometimes should think like children in order to understand things around us.

Which are the main things you would like to learn from this project?

Language, patience, well-being

What kind of voluntary activities would be interesting for you and you would like to take part in?

Anything involving sports, well-being, healthy and eco-friendly lifestyle. In addition – filmmaking, video production.

What are your expectations from this project?

I expect to find new opportunities for my own future, meet motivated and inspiring people, learn language, patience with kids, understanding and better communication.

Which are your fears from this project?

I don’t have any.

What is your previous experience with voluntary activities (if any)?

I have experience mentoring foreign students and volunteering in an orphanage.

What are your expectations from Know and Can Association?

Care :) 

Do you think this project can develop you in personal, professional and social way? Please, tell how.

All of the above mentioned. In my personal way it will help me to go out of my comfort zone, to be more open to other cultures, be more communicative and respectful. In a professional way, this could open new opportunities for future work, in my case with sports and video creation.


Please do share with us, so far your impressions from the voluntary service.

So far it has been amazing, I have no complains at all only positive vibes and happy days.

How the Covid-19 is affecting your voluntary service?

The complex we work in is closed, but we can still create online lectures, meet small groups of kids after school. So even though it has a small negative impact, we tend to see the positive future :) 

Dainius collage


eu flag co funded pos cmyk left EN

Project number: 2020-2-BG01-ESC13-079437

The European Commission's support for the production of this publication does not constitute an endorsement of the contents, which reflect the views only of the authors, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.


bul. Praga No. 8, 1606 Sofia, Bulgaria

+359 2 943 40 55, +359 878 503 095